30/30 #4 Devil Woman

Once again, I’m writing after midnight so my poem postings look a little off, but I’m committed to the 30/30 and will catch up soon.  I really disliked the prompt for day 4.  Write a poem that is essentially a blues song.  3 lines, 2 repeating, a total of 12.  I’m just gonna come right out and say it, this piece is no good.  In part, that is likely because I didn’t take enough time with it.  However, I needed to write and post something for 30/30, so here it is.  As you are reading imagine it’s a blues tune.

Devil Woman

The devil be a sneak, steal her way into your heart
Lord, the devil be a sneak, steal her way into your heart
She gonna hurt you like a hickory switch, before you even start

Shut the door now Johnny, don’t let the devil in
Said, shut the door now Johnny, don’t let the devil in
Cause’ you know that woman wanna fight, and she always gonna win

That man there at the crossroads put the devil in yer eye
Said that man there at the crossroads put the devil in yer eye
You shoulda listened Johnny, and let that woman walk on by

She as fine as tall iced tea, mean as a one eyed dog
She as fine as tall iced tea, mean as a one eyed dog
She done cut you down to size boy, like an old fallen log

One thought on “30/30 #4 Devil Woman

  1. I think you did a fine job!

    I don’t like when I have days where the words won’t come until the very last second. It seems that mind congestion happens more often when I commit myself to challenges, such as the NaPoWriMo.

Leave a Reply

