30/30 – #2 “Pulled From Song”

Today’s writing prompt is to write a poem inspired by the #1 hit song on the day you were born.  My song is “Sailing” by Christopher Cross.  From this song I chose the following lyrics to work with.

“It’s not far to never-never land, no reason to pretend
And if the wind is right you can find the joy of innocence again
Oh, the canvas can do miracles, just you wait and see.
Believe me.”

Here is my poem.

Paint my canvass like a bruise,
Blue and black,
Fading into something uglier
Call it post modernism.
Show it in galleries,
So spectators can comment on the light,
or lack of.

Peddle prints on E-bay, a buck each,
So everyone can contemplate
The scars you’ve made so obvious

Or –

Escape.
When the wind blows just right
And up, like a kite flying,
I drift to never-never land
It must be Friday.

Turned my back on innocence
Because he’d already taken it
In full sun, with onlookers,
In church pews,
I prayed for a miracle.

But God was out that day
Looking at art.
And I never was one for painting.

Sailed away on crystal boats
Lined up by boys
Who would never grow up.
I just wanted to fly.

Or –

Welcome home.
At 30 I was finally born
No reason left to pretend
I sailed my ship right up to shore
Used the wood for a hut,
My own hands building
A new life
Painted in brush strokes
Of red, turquoise,
Golden pinks of sunset
With the wind just right
I flew,
Believe me,
I flew.

One thought on “30/30 – #2 “Pulled From Song”

  1. That last one really hits home for me. I’m not sure what it relates to in your personal life but for me it touches the fear I used to have of what everyone would think if I spoke my mind and was my true loud-mouthed, obnoxious self. And with that came the ability to accomplish my dreams which come to their pinnacle this week as I defend my dissertation!

Leave a Reply

