Movin’ On

As I’m writing this, I’m sitting on the Amtrak train and we are rolling away from Boston.  The Boston leg of my trip didn’t go as well as I had hoped.  I simply didn’t plan it out very well.  I haven’t traveled much in the past 3 years, since I quit my corporate job.  So I made key mistakes that were costly and took up time.  I’m at peace with it now, even though money is a serious concern for this traveler.  I decided to look at this part of the trip as a learning experience.  I’ll be creating a check list for myself, and you, to use in the future when planning a trip.  The first thing I should have done was learned the public transit system in and out in relation to where I was staying before setting it all up.  I didn’t realize how long my commute in was going to be everyday or how much it was going to cost me.  $10.50 a day to commute from Swampscott to North Station where I could then take the “T,” for $15 a week.

It worked out okay though.  I think I needed down time more than anything.  I was hosted by a friend’s mom who graciously put me up and fed me unbelievably well.  We took walks on the beach (too cold to swim!) and downtown in Salem.  We enjoyed red wine and dark chocolates after dinners.  I watched a tennis game on television and learned more about the sport from my host and went to an amazing jazz concert that really deserves its own review and will get one in the near future on the page “Playin’ In A Travelin’ Band.”

This next leg of the trip has me in Baltimore.  The person I’m staying with has warned me that the public transit there isn’t great..  However she did mention Zip Cars.  Zip cars is a service where you can rent a car by the hour.  It looks really interesting, but it requires an annual fee and sign-up fee that I simply don’t have right now.  However, I’m going to check out places I may travel to by train or plane and see if they have zip car and whether it might be worth it for me to join.

View from the commuter train into Boston

My train ride tonight is an overnight trip.  I hope I can sleep and be ready to meet my friends tomorrow at BWI and head out for a weekend retreat together.  We can file that leg of the journey under “automobile” in my plane, train, and automobile adventure.

4 thoughts on “Movin’ On

  1. My train ride was an overnight quiet car and I mostly slept, though not well. It was about a 9 hour ride because of all the stops. I have heard that ride from Boston to Baltimore is beautiful and I’d love to do it again sometime during the daylight and find out for myself.

    The train was comfortable, slightly more so than an airplane and there was a snack car aboard, but I didn’t visit it. I wish I had more to tell you. Try it sometime!

  2. I think I’d prefer traveling by train, too, from what you’re describing. I’m claustrophic (and agoraphobic – weird combination). You’re so adventurous! I enjoy reading about your travels. You truly amaze me.

Leave a Reply

