Resistance

I’ve been resistant to writing these past few days.  I kept thinking I needed to write something here, but then… didn’t.  I have written a little each day between the 3 blogs I maintain (yes really) and a poem every now and then.  I am back home now and hope to settle into my routine after the weekend.  Maybe I’ll come back with some July 4th inspired poems.  Yes, I think that sounds good.  Look for that on Tuesday or Wednesday.

Resistance is an old friend of mine.  She shows up everywhere it seems.  Most usually when it’s time to work out.  She shows up and says, don’t do that.. .it’s boring, you won’t accomplish anything, it’s a waste of time.  I see her again when I’m out shopping and she says, don’t resist buying that $7 coffee, you deserve that!  My friend resistance can be really charming.

Over the years I’ve gotten better at taming her.  I’ve learned that I can quiet her when she shows up to tell me to skip my daily meditation practice if I tell her we don’t have to do the full 20 minutes, just 5.  Some days we do 5, most of the time once I am 5 minutes in, it’s easy  to go on and do 20.  I do the same thing with writing and working out, she whines and I promise her we will only spend a few minutes on this.  It helps.

The trick, I know, is to just keep showing up.  Sit on the cushion, pick up the pen, put your feet on the treadmill.  So today I’m showing up to writing by simply writing this post, more of a note really.

What do you resist?  How do you commit and overcome your own resistance?

One thought on “Resistance

  1. Excellent way to deal with resistance. Tell yourself (and do it) that you only have to do it a little. When I feel resistant to swimming, for instance, I tell myself all I have to do is get in the pool. That’s it–get in. Of course, once I’m in, I stay in for at least 30 minutes. My theory is that a little is better than none. Make a little deal with the devil in this case; it usually works out for the best.

Leave a Reply

