Savannah Speaks

The land here talks to you.  It has a pulse.

Each part of the city feeling a little bit different.  In the squares and through the giant trees the land feels steady and protective.  Much like a mother, loving but also ready to defend her young.  The land spirits here fiercely love Savannah.   Near the river the energy shifts and becomes more carefree.  Almost like the wild fey in story books, the river beckons you to “come closer child.”  The locals tell me people drown in this section of the river all the time.  A man I meet on River Street tells me the river has 8 different currents under the lid and there’s no coming out of it should you be foolish enough to get in it in the first place.  He goes on to tell me how many people, lit up from River Street bars, strip down to jump in.  People drown he says, shaking his head.  I believe him.  Even knowing better and being sober, as I walk by the river I hear her whispering to me.

Out where my host lives the land is quieter.  It feels like being at your grandma’s house; safe and serene.  Last night a giant oak fell during the storm and I could feel it’s pain.  However, it was nothing like what I felt two years ago when the trees at my house came down in an epic ice storm.  Then I could feel the trees screaming.  This oak laid across the street with a quiet dignity.  I sat with it awhile and the neighbors in the area came out and told stories about the oak, the last time it was damaged and the time before that.  No one knew how old the tree was, one guessed 200 years.

The land at Bonaventure Cemetery has an unusual feel to it.  It’s as if you are floating through the area instead of walking on the land.  I had to keep looking down to see where my feet where despite the ground being even beneath me.  It does have an eerie quality with all the Victorian statues and tombstones neatly nestled in giant trees that are covered in moss.

Parks stretch through this city for miles.  People walk their dogs, jog, play tennis, and what looks like croquet.  I imagine this city would be an ideal place to live.  It has a way of being busy and still all at once.  People moving about all around and yet the land beckons you to move slowly.  It wants you to listen to what it has to say.  I have trouble doing any tourist like things here because I simply want to walk under the giant trees.

3 thoughts on “Savannah Speaks

  1. This is so making me remember when we lived in Ga. We lived about 30 min. from Savannah for 8 years and I always loved going there. River Street had a wonderful candle shop and a prailen candy shop that I loved! I would get moss from the trees to use in crafts. Savannah will always be the Bella of the South for me.

  2. If you haven’t read “Prince of Tides” by Pat Conroy, you’re in the perfect place to do it now. Or buy it and bring it home and you can return to Savannah country anytime you choose. Actually it may be closer to the SC beach, but not too much is different except I think Savannah is prettier than Charleston. Get the book. Love, Mendy

Leave a Reply

